Primary Music


MES Cairo has a strong history in the Performing Arts and the Primary Music Department encourages children by offering them an inclusive curriculum and many opportunities to perform and showcase their talents. The Primary Music department at MES Cairo is a flourishing department with lessons delivered by three specialist teachers. Students receive sixty minutes of curriculum lessons and an increasing number are choosing to supplement this by attending the wide-ranging programme offered as After School Activities. These activities cater for children in Y2-6 and generally include; a number of choirs for different ages, Music Technology, Concert Band and recorder and keyboard skills.
The Primary Music department is well-resourced with children having access to xylophone, glockenspiels and untuned percussion instruments in many lessons, as well as (from Y2 upwards) receiving Music technology lessons using the department’s laptops. All students from Y2-Y6 receive at least six weeks of lessons per year in the Keyboard Lab improving their keyboard skills. In addition, Y3 students get the opportunity to learn the recorder. If this piques their interest, then when they reach Y4, they can join the Concert Band After School Activity and learn the trumpet, trombone, saxophone, clarinet or flute.
 


 

Upcoming Events

Tuesday 29th January
Y5 Concert Technical Rehearsal – 9.30am

Wednesday 30th January
Y5 Concert Dress Rehearsal – 9.30am

Thursday 31st January
Y9 Target Setting Day 

 

Friday 1st to Monday 4th February
Y5 Nile Cruise Trip 1
 

Sunday 3rd February
Term 2 ASAs Begin
 

Sunday 3rd to Thursday 7th February
 IEP Mid-Year Reviews
 

Sunday 3rd to Monday 11th February
DP11 Mid-Year Assessments

 

Monday 4th to Thursday 7th February
 Y8 Global Perspectives Trip

 

Wednesday 6th February

 Y9-10 IG DT Fab Lab Visit

 

Friday 8th to Saturday 9th February

IA Practice Exhibition

 

Friday 8th to Monday 11th February

Y5 Nile Cruise Trip 2

 

Sunday 10th February

Peri Showcase – 1.30pm

Wednesday 13th February

Y/G 7-8 Spring Social, Y8 Global Perspectives Enterprise Event

 

Thursday 14th February

Y10-12/DP12 Term 2 Reports Issued

 

Sunday 17th February

Y7-9 Focus Week, Y10-12/DP12 Student Progress Mtgs (Parents)

 

Sunday 17th February

FS2 Production Technical Rehearsal

 

Monday 18th February

Y1/Y2 Sports Days, FS2 Production Dress Rehearsal

 

Tuesday 19th February

Y3/Y4 Sports Days

 

Wednesday 20th February

Y5/Y6 Sports Days, FS2 Production -12.30pm

 

Thursday 21st February

Graduation Gown Fitting

 

Sunday 24th to Thursday 28th February

G7-8 Week Without Walls  

 

Monday 25th February

All US Section Course Selections Due

 

Wednesday 27th to Sunday 3rd March

Senior Trip

 

Thursday 28th February

FS2/FS1 Sports Days

 

Thursday 28th to Tuesday 5th March

IA Expedition to Cyprus