Arts


Primary Art
 


In the Primary School, the subjects Art and Design and Craft Design Technology are taught by our own , Art Specialist, in a purpose-built department, and in the classrooms by the class teachers. Years 1, 5 and 6 are taught by the specialist until February, and then Years 2, 3 and 4. In this way, over 900 children from Years 1 to 6 can be taught every week throughout the year. The children learn a range of skills including drawing, painting, collage, 3D, printmaking, textiles, digital media, food technology and mechanisms and structures. These skills are taught within the QCA topics listed, and are linked wherever possible to MES Cairo’s creative curriculum 'Curriculum Diversity' themes taught by the class teachers throughout the year. This encourages the children to immerse themselves further in their learning experience. Curriculum links help to develop the children's creativity and imagination, and they foster a wide range of important skills. Within their Art lessons, the children are encouraged to practise the following skills:

- Exploration of the formal elements of Art: line, tone, colour, shape, form, texture and pattern.
- Exploration of their feelings and emotions, and their responses to their own and others' artwork.
- Vocabulary- the children regularly discuss and evaluate their own and others' work which helps improve their spoken English.
- Taking pride in their work- the children are encouraged to complete work to a high standard and improve it whenever possible.
- Researching and recording; ICT and other reference sources are used for research, and sketchbooks, to record progress.
- Teamwork- group activities help children understand the importance of cooperation and value the role others can play.
- An understanding of the importance of Art in everyday life.
- An awareness and appreciation of their environment and the health of our planet.
- An awareness of the contributions made by past, present and future artists and designers.
- Using equipment effectively and safely.

The Primary School offers a wide variety of Art-based extra-curricular activities for our children. The children also have the opportunity to enter regular competitions based on an Art theme.

 

 

Upcoming Events

Tuesday 29th January
Y5 Concert Technical Rehearsal – 9.30am

Wednesday 30th January
Y5 Concert Dress Rehearsal – 9.30am

Thursday 31st January
Y9 Target Setting Day 

 

Friday 1st to Monday 4th February
Y5 Nile Cruise Trip 1
 

Sunday 3rd February
Term 2 ASAs Begin
 

Sunday 3rd to Thursday 7th February
 IEP Mid-Year Reviews
 

Sunday 3rd to Monday 11th February
DP11 Mid-Year Assessments

 

Monday 4th to Thursday 7th February
 Y8 Global Perspectives Trip

 

Wednesday 6th February

 Y9-10 IG DT Fab Lab Visit

 

Friday 8th to Saturday 9th February

IA Practice Exhibition

 

Friday 8th to Monday 11th February

Y5 Nile Cruise Trip 2

 

Sunday 10th February

Peri Showcase – 1.30pm

Wednesday 13th February

Y/G 7-8 Spring Social, Y8 Global Perspectives Enterprise Event

 

Thursday 14th February

Y10-12/DP12 Term 2 Reports Issued

 

Sunday 17th February

Y7-9 Focus Week, Y10-12/DP12 Student Progress Mtgs (Parents)

 

Sunday 17th February

FS2 Production Technical Rehearsal

 

Monday 18th February

Y1/Y2 Sports Days, FS2 Production Dress Rehearsal

 

Tuesday 19th February

Y3/Y4 Sports Days

 

Wednesday 20th February

Y5/Y6 Sports Days, FS2 Production -12.30pm

 

Thursday 21st February

Graduation Gown Fitting

 

Sunday 24th to Thursday 28th February

G7-8 Week Without Walls  

 

Monday 25th February

All US Section Course Selections Due

 

Wednesday 27th to Sunday 3rd March

Senior Trip

 

Thursday 28th February

FS2/FS1 Sports Days

 

Thursday 28th to Tuesday 5th March

IA Expedition to Cyprus