Music


All students in Key Stage Three (British Section) and Middle School (American Section) at MES Cairo study Music as a discrete subject. The British Section students study General Music, examining various styles of music from around the world. This prepares interested students for GCSE Music and introduces all to the concepts of rhythm, melody, harmony and the global joy of making music together. In the American Section students study General Music in Grade 7 and Choir in Grade 8.
While British Section students may choose to study GCSE Music, American Section students can choose to pursue their musical talent in Band class or Choir. The MES Cairo Choirs are excellent and the self-discipline and effort developed during the course are useful in all aspects of the singers’ lives.
At times, students from the Music classes perform duties as band members for the school productions. They are also given ample opportunity for performances at concerts and on the yard at breaktimes.
 

 

Upcoming Events

Monday 7th January
Coptic Christmas

Tuesday 8th January
First Day of Term Two

Tuesday 8th to Monday 21st January
DP12 Exams
Tuesday 8th to Tuesday 22nd January
Y10-12 Exams

Wednesday 9th to Monday 14th January
MUN - Prague

Sunday 13th to Thursday 24th January
US Secondary Elective Exams

Tuesday 15th January
Primary Student Progress Meetings with Parents

Wednesday 16th January
Y7 Global Perspectives Orienteering Trip 1

Thursday 17th January
Y7 Global Perspectives Orienteering Trip 2

Sunday 20th January
Y5 Trip Parents’ Meeting
Sunday 20th January
G8-10 IGP Assembly

Sunday 20th January
G9-12 Exam Assembly

Monday 21st to Thursday 31st January
G8-11 IGP Meetings

Wednesday 23rd January
Y/G8 Secondary Pioneers Service Trip – 10.00am

Wednesday 23rd January
G7-8 Transition Assembly for Parents – 1.45-3.00pm

Thursday 24th January
Y/G7 Secondary Pioneers Service Trip – 10.00am

Sunday 27th January
G9-12 Study Day

Sunday 27th January
Whole School e-Safety Focus Fortnight

Monday 28th January
Y7 Global Perspectives Carousel Day 1

Tuesday 29th January
Y7 Global Perspectives Carousel Day 2

Monday 28th January to Sunday 3rd February
G9-12 Mid-Year Exams

Tuesday 29th January
Y5 Concert Technical Rehearsal – 9.30am

Wednesday 30th January
Y5 Concert Dress Rehearsal – 9.30am

Thursday 31st January
Y9 Target Setting Day