Music


All students in Key Stage Three (British Section) and Middle School (American Section) at MES Cairo study Music as a discrete subject. The British Section students study General Music, examining various styles of music from around the world. This prepares interested students for GCSE Music and introduces all to the concepts of rhythm, melody, harmony and the global joy of making music together. In the American Section students study General Music in Grade 7 and Choir in Grade 8.
While British Section students may choose to study GCSE Music, American Section students can choose to pursue their musical talent in Band class or Choir. The MES Cairo Choirs are excellent and the self-discipline and effort developed during the course are useful in all aspects of the singers’ lives.
At times, students from the Music classes perform duties as band members for the school productions. They are also given ample opportunity for performances at concerts and on the yard at breaktimes.
 

 

Upcoming Events


Wednesday 13th March
Y8 GP Enterprise Celebration Event

Thursday 14th March
Secondary Sports Day

Sunday 17th March
World Book Day
Y6 Cyprus Parents’ Info Meeting

Sunday 17th to Tuesday 19th March
DP12 Oral Exams

Sunday 17 to Thursday 21st March
FS1 Family Week
 
Tuesday 19th March
DP11 AUC Visit – 8.30am-2.00pm
 
Wednesday 20th March
24 Hour Run

Thursday 21st March
FS1 Mothers’ Day/24 Hour Run Finale

Sunday 24th March
SUMMER UNIFORM CHANGEOVER PERIOD

Sunday 24th March
Whole School Production Rehearsal

Monday 25th to Wednesday 27th March
Whole School Production

Wednesday 27th to Thursday 28th March
DP12 Final TOK Presentations

Thursday 28th March
Primary and Y7-9 and DP11 Term 2 Reports Issued

Friday 29th March
IA Bronze Practice