Drama


All students in Key Stage Three (British Section) and Middle School (American Section) at MES Cairo study Drama as a discrete subject. The two year course covers a wide range of Drama skills including physical theatre, script-writing, characterisation and explorative strategies. The course prepares interested students with the knowledge-base necessary for IGCSE Drama or the American High School Theatre courses. It also establishes the ability to work well with others, to view the world as others see it and develops self-confidence and presentation skills.
In the British Section students can move on to IGCSE Drama, a two-year course which further develops analytical skills and places a large emphasis on performance of both published scripts and devised work. Success at this level can then be taken on to AS Level Drama and Theatre Studies.
The American Section offers three levels of Theatre class with a definite focus on performance skills in the many and varied forms of Theatre. Students become aware of the history and development of the art-form and learn how theatre companies produce shows.
Many students in Drama or Theatre classes use their classroom experience to perform in the annual productions, including the hugely successful “Les Miserables” in 2013.
 

Upcoming Events

Monday 7th January
Coptic Christmas

Tuesday 8th January
First Day of Term Two

Tuesday 8th to Monday 21st January
DP12 Exams
Tuesday 8th to Tuesday 22nd January
Y10-12 Exams

Wednesday 9th to Monday 14th January
MUN - Prague

Sunday 13th to Thursday 24th January
US Secondary Elective Exams

Tuesday 15th January
Primary Student Progress Meetings with Parents

Wednesday 16th January
Y7 Global Perspectives Orienteering Trip 1

Thursday 17th January
Y7 Global Perspectives Orienteering Trip 2

Sunday 20th January
Y5 Trip Parents’ Meeting
Sunday 20th January
G8-10 IGP Assembly

Sunday 20th January
G9-12 Exam Assembly

Monday 21st to Thursday 31st January
G8-11 IGP Meetings

Wednesday 23rd January
Y/G8 Secondary Pioneers Service Trip – 10.00am

Wednesday 23rd January
G7-8 Transition Assembly for Parents – 1.45-3.00pm

Thursday 24th January
Y/G7 Secondary Pioneers Service Trip – 10.00am

Sunday 27th January
G9-12 Study Day

Sunday 27th January
Whole School e-Safety Focus Fortnight

Monday 28th January
Y7 Global Perspectives Carousel Day 1

Tuesday 29th January
Y7 Global Perspectives Carousel Day 2

Monday 28th January to Sunday 3rd February
G9-12 Mid-Year Exams

Tuesday 29th January
Y5 Concert Technical Rehearsal – 9.30am

Wednesday 30th January
Y5 Concert Dress Rehearsal – 9.30am

Thursday 31st January
Y9 Target Setting Day 

‘Les Miserables’