Arts


Art Department      Art Gallery (Click on the Gallery to view student work)


The Visual Arts plays a vitally important part in the creative life of students at MES Cairo. Students explore a range of 2D and 3D media across the course of their studies, and are encouraged to use these skills in the production of work that allows them to express their own context as young people living in Egypt. The images displayed on this page show the range of responses to a variety of themes.

The Art Department crosses all three sections of the Secondary school. All Grade and Year seven and Eight students take Art classes. British Section students are offered the option of IGCSE Art and Design in Years Nine and Ten and have the option of specialising in either Photography or Painting and Related Media. Our Year Eleven and Twelve students in the British section can opt to study AS and A2 Art and Design. In the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme, students can study Visual Art at either Higher or Standard Level. Visual Art is an elective throughout the American High School Grades, and Advanced Placement (AP) Art is offered for our most talented Grade Eleven and Twelve students. Photography and Digital Visual Media is a popular elective amongst our Grade Twelve students.

We celebrate the creative talents of our students at our annual Whole School Art Exhibition. To open the event in 2014, renowned Egyptian artist Nazli Madkour was in attendance to inaugurate our Gallery and offer some inspirational words to our young artists. Plans are already afoot for an even bigger and better exhibition in May 2015! Additionally, the Art Department offers all students across the school the chance to become involved and be creative through the After School Activities (ASA) programme and competitions are held throughout the year. Art based After School Activities range from Photography to Ceramics. The department has been working with Oriental Weavers for two years to offer the students the chance to have a piece of their original artwork transformed into a rug. For this year’s whole school production of ‘Wicked’ the Art team ran a series of workshops with students to help design and build the set.

The Art Department this year continues to thrive under the creative inspiration of Mr. Simpson, Miss Tapsell, and Miss Lamia, and this year we welcome Miss Hedges and Mr. Myers to the team.

Ms Kim Tapsell – Secondary Head of Art
 

Upcoming Events

Tuesday 29th January
Y5 Concert Technical Rehearsal – 9.30am

Wednesday 30th January
Y5 Concert Dress Rehearsal – 9.30am

Thursday 31st January
Y9 Target Setting Day 

 

Friday 1st to Monday 4th February
Y5 Nile Cruise Trip 1
 

Sunday 3rd February
Term 2 ASAs Begin
 

Sunday 3rd to Thursday 7th February
 IEP Mid-Year Reviews
 

Sunday 3rd to Monday 11th February
DP11 Mid-Year Assessments

 

Monday 4th to Thursday 7th February
 Y8 Global Perspectives Trip

 

Wednesday 6th February

 Y9-10 IG DT Fab Lab Visit

 

Friday 8th to Saturday 9th February

IA Practice Exhibition

 

Friday 8th to Monday 11th February

Y5 Nile Cruise Trip 2

 

Sunday 10th February

Peri Showcase – 1.30pm

Wednesday 13th February

Y/G 7-8 Spring Social, Y8 Global Perspectives Enterprise Event

 

Thursday 14th February

Y10-12/DP12 Term 2 Reports Issued

 

Sunday 17th February

Y7-9 Focus Week, Y10-12/DP12 Student Progress Mtgs (Parents)

 

Sunday 17th February

FS2 Production Technical Rehearsal

 

Monday 18th February

Y1/Y2 Sports Days, FS2 Production Dress Rehearsal

 

Tuesday 19th February

Y3/Y4 Sports Days

 

Wednesday 20th February

Y5/Y6 Sports Days, FS2 Production -12.30pm

 

Thursday 21st February

Graduation Gown Fitting

 

Sunday 24th to Thursday 28th February

G7-8 Week Without Walls  

 

Monday 25th February

All US Section Course Selections Due

 

Wednesday 27th to Sunday 3rd March

Senior Trip

 

Thursday 28th February

FS2/FS1 Sports Days

 

Thursday 28th to Tuesday 5th March

IA Expedition to Cyprus